Sunday, August 13, 2017

American Fork Second Ward

The American Fork Second Ward Meetinghouse was built largely in 1903; by the end of January 1904, the ward was able to meet inside the building.

(Image Source: Church History Library)

Fortunately, the building has been very well preserved. The chapel on the right (with the corner steeple, which acted as an entrance) is the original portion of the building; the rest was added on in 1929. Fortunately, the addition matches the architecture of the original portion exactly.

The building has some beautiful details--colorful stained glass, unique finials, and beautiful brick work all add to the building's character. The Church vacated the building in 1979; in 1984, Bigelow and Co., an organ building company, purchased the building. They still own it today.

Sunday, August 6, 2017

Twenty-fourth Ward (Salt Lake)

Built around 1907, the 24th Ward chapel has a very nice architectural style that is unique in Mormon culture. The narrow tower over the main entrance, the curved wall on the north side, and the split staircase leading up to the main doors are all very nice features for this building.

(Image Source: Church History Library)
The building is still standing, but it was sold by the Church many years ago. Now it houses a music company.